You are here

General information

  • Surface area: 163,155km2
  • Coastline: 1,298km
  • Climate: Mediterranean (semi-arid inland, arid in the south). Average temperatures: December 11.4°C, July 29.3°C
  • Population: 10.9 million inhabitants
  • Languages : Arabic. French is widely spoken with English spoken in tourist areas, most signs are bilingual
  • Time zone: GMT + 1
  • Capital: Tunis
  • Main towns: Sfax, Sousse, Béja, Bizerte, Jendouba, Gabès, El Kef, Nabeul, Médenine, Kairouan…
  • National holiday: 20 March (Independence, 1956)
  • Religion: Islam (98% of the pop.), Judaism, Christianity
  • Telephone: Country code 216 + 8 figure number
  • Currency: Tunisian Dinar (TND). The Tunisian Dinar is divided into 1000 millimes. It cannot be taken into or out of the country. Traveller’s cheques accepted
    1 Euro = around 2.4 TND
    Credit cards accepted
    Visa, MasterCard, Eurocard, Amex, Diner’s Club
  • International airports: Tunis, Monastir, Djerba, Sfax, Tabarka, Tozeur, Gafsa, Gabès, Enfidha-Hammamet
  • Airlines :
  • In the event of an emergency
    Tourist police: 
    tel. 197
    Medical emergency:
    tél. 190